Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 08, 2024, 09:25:36 am *

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Clerics need lovin, too!  (Read 17330 times)
Chunka
Legend

Been gone so long I'm a newbie again!

View Profile
« on: January 01, 2015, 04:27:39 pm »

Ok, we've been discussing this in detail on game, and I think its time to bring it here.

Clerics: why do they suck, how can they suck less?

Clerics atm are a 3rd rate healer and probably dead last in terms of DPS of any class. Clerics are decent healers, but they dont excel in any one area; pallies are FAR better group healers, to the point that their group heal surpasses a clerics single heal. Druids are hands down the best single target healer. Shammy are the best support healer and dps pump of the healers.

So....where's that leave clerics?

A clerics epic proc is the same as an old pally epic proc heal/cure. Its ....ok, but not great. Their group heals are good from word of viv, but the recast time is somewhat long, in general terms. Clerics do get a massive single target heal, and its instacast, but its more of an "Oh, shit!" heal than anything (VERY mana heavy). The only thing clerics really have going for them is the epic click after 5.0....which is BEEFY. Sadly, the recast is beefier: 1 minute. This combo makes the cleric a solid healer but they definitely are inferior healers when compared to paladin or druid.

Some ideas to fix? Dont know.....its a hard line to walk. Maybe make their ST heals better. Maybe give them the ability to cast a buff that, for a brief time, reflects all damage back to the mob. Maybe lower the recast on the epic click and make it genuine AE, not just group (would help everyone, and would be a blast to try and manage agro!).

Anyway, just thought I'd open a discussion on this.