Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 03, 2024, 02:04:00 am *

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]
Print
Author Topic: Looking at upgrading the Rig.... need help please!  (Read 10265 times)
Chunka
Legend

Been gone so long I'm a newbie again!

View Profile
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2013, 09:47:58 pm »

FYI: built this system as a streaming server for my wife's SL DJ biz...and I can run 18 boxes in T5 without lag....more if I run some skinny.

"When any government, or any church for that matter, undertakes to say to its subjects, "This you may not read, this you must not see, this you are forbidden to know," the end result is tyranny and oppression, no matter how holy the motives. Mighty little force is needed to control a man whose mind has been hoodwinked; contrariwise, no amount of force can control a free man, a man whose mind is free. No, not the rack, not fission bombs, not anything — you can't conquer a free man; the most you can do is kill him." R.A. Heinlein
Nijjin

View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2013, 09:55:02 pm »

Check out AMD's Trinity processors (APU). The A8-5600 is low priced and performs quite well. That and a Biostar A85 board will cost you less than $200, and can handle a LOT. Nice part about the setup is that it supports Virtu MVP (Lucidlogic) which lets you Xfire the APU with pretty much any graphics card....in effect giving you SLI with one vid card. As for vid cards....you can get a decent Radeon 7770 for around $120, or spend a little more and go for an Nvidia 650 ti (around $150, which is the route I'd go). Then to round it out....2 8 gig sticks of decent ram that will fit the board will run you around $100. Easy upgrade package, as long as you have a 64 bit operating system.

I will check this out, thanks for the info!
Hunter
EZ Server GM
Legend

EZ Server GM

View Profile
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2013, 10:26:55 pm »