Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 04, 2024, 05:43:44 pm *

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: UPS & VS Advice  (Read 12674 times)
Hunter
EZ Server GM
Legend

EZ Server GM

View Profile
« on: September 05, 2010, 06:30:33 am »

I got new gaming PC ordered, which has dual (SLI) video cards. I decided to get a 1000 watt Power Supply. Running a line from a different circuit since my living room is already getting over loaded with multiple PCs and TVs. I think each circuit is 20 amps each from what my dad told me, but I'm no electrical expert.

1) Will the PC power supply always use 1000 watt, or does it only take what it needs, and probably will average 600 watt usage instead most of the time?

2) In addition to, or even instead of, a surge protector, I would like to get a UPS (Battery Backup) to protect my new investment. I have one already for EZ Server at my friends house with higher watt output then the PC needs, and same with my MajorMUD Server (Text based RPG). I'd like to get one for my new gaming PC, but seems like anything with 1000+ watt output is getting expensive $700-4,000. I noticed most of the UPS list their VA and some their WATT. Would this http://www.bestbuy.com/site/APC+-+1500VA+Battery+Back-Up+System+-+Black/9307831.p?id=1218081367518&skuId=9307831&st=APC&cp=1&lp=2 "APC - 1500VA Battery Back-Up System - Black
Model: BX1500G | SKU: 9307831"
be enough even though it was only 865 Watt output? Or do I need to get one that has 1000+ watt output?